ACOTE Welcomes New Members and Chairperson Dr. Pamela Roberts of Cedars-Sinai


Pamela Roberts, PhD, OTR/L, SCFES, FAOTA, CPHQ, FNAP, who has served in the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE®) Chairperson-Elect position for the past year, became the new Chairperson of ACOTE at the completion of Dr. Ellen McLaughlin’s term on August 9, 2015. Dr. Ellen McLaughlin completed a 3-year term as Chairperson after serving for 6 years as an ACOTE member, 2 years as Chairperson of ACOTE’s Educational Standards Review Committee, and 4 years as a member of ACOTE’s Roster of Accreditation Evaluators. Dr. McLaughlin’s service to the profession is greatly appreciated.

New ACOTE Chairperson Roberts has been a member of ACOTE since August 2008 and served on the Roster of Accreditation Evaluators from 2001 to 2008 prior to joining ACOTE. As an accreditation on-site evaluator, Dr. Roberts has conducted 21 on-site evaluations at both occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant educational programs.

Dr. Roberts has over 33 years of experience in the field of occupational therapy. She received her Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy from the Washington University School of Medicine, her Master of Science in Health Administration from California State University-Northridge, and her Doctor of Philosophy in Health Sciences from Touro University International. Dr. Roberts is also adjunct faculty for the University of Southern California, in Los Angeles, California.

Dr. Roberts is Program Director of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, California. In her Cedars-Sinai position, Dr. Roberts is responsible for coordination of quality management, including performance improvement, outcomes management, regulatory compliance, and research for the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. She is also responsible for operations of Inpatient Rehabilitation and Neuropsychology.

ACOTE member, Tia Hughes, DrOT, MBA, OTR/L, has been selected to serve as ACOTE’s new Vice Chairperson. Dr. Hughes is Department Chair of the Occupational Therapy Program at the Adventist University of Health Sciences in Orlando, Florida. Dr. Hughes has been a member of ACOTE since August 2012.

ACOTE also welcomed the following new members at its August 2015 meeting. They replaced the positions held by Kim Chronister, Ann Jadin, Janet Jedlicka, and Ellen McLaughlin, who fulfilled their terms after several dedicated years of service.

  • Harriett S. Bynum, MS, OTR/L
    Program Director
    Kent State University at East Liverpool
    Occupational Therapy Assistant Program
    East Liverpool, OH
  • Sheri Purdy, CLT, OTR/L
    Occupational Therapist/Case Manager
    New England Rehabilitation Hospital
    Woburn, MA
  • Ketki D. Raina, PhD, OTR/L
    Associate Professor
    University of Pittsburgh
    Department of Occupational Therapy
    Pittsburgh, PA
  • Fonda Scott, BLS, COTA/L
    Academic Fieldwork Coordinator, OTA Program
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

A complete list of ACOTE members may be found on the ACOTE Accreditation section of AOTA's Web site (