Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS)

About PQRS

The Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS) is a federal program administered by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) that uses Medicare payment adjustments to promote quality measure reporting among eligible health care professionals providing outpatient services to Medicare beneficiaries. The program was first implemented in CY 2007 for physician and non-physician providers pursuant to the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006, and was made permanent with passage of the Medicare Improvement for Patients and Providers Act of 2008.

PQRS Reporting

Only eligible professionals (EPs) are subject to reporting requirements under the Physician Quality Reporting System (PQRS). The list of EPs, as defined in statute, includes physicians and non-physicians. Occupational therapists who (1) are independent practitioners or who work in private practice, and (2) bill Medicare using an individual-level National Provider Identifier (NPI) are EPs for purposes of PQRS.  

Individual Measures for Occupational Therapists Member only content

Dementia Measures Group Member only content

Reporting Options Member only content

Resources Member only content

Continuing AOTA Advocacy

AOTA is continually working to limit payment penalties for occupational therapists, explore registry reporting options, develop new quality outcomes measures for function, and to ensure that occupational therapists can report on all appropriate existing measures. We would like to hear from occupational therapists who are participating in PQRS and other quality reporting programs. Please email us at to share your experiences, and to pass along tips and suggestions to other AOTA members.