JOIN AOTA

Approved, Candidate, and Applicant Residency Sites

Approved Residency Sites

These sites have full approval to advertise for and accept residents. Individuals who complete the Residency Program will have done so with AOTA approval. 

Acute Care

University of Chicago Medical Center Residency Program
Site Coordinator: Cheryl Esbrook
Coordinator E-mail:  cheryl.esbrook@uchospitals.edu
Phone: (773) 795-7134 

Hand Therapy

University of Michigan Hospital and Health Systems
Site Coordinator: Carole Dodge
Coordinator E-mail: cdjr@med.umich.edu
(734) 936-7161

Pediatrics

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center Residency Program
Site Coordinator: Megan Cappel
Coordinator E-mail: Megan.cappel@cchmc.org
(513) 636-4651

Physical Rehabilitation

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center Residency Program
Site Coordinator: Cecile Alpasan
Coordinator E-mail: alpasanm@cshs.org
Phone: (310) 423-5243 


Candidate Residency Sites

Sites that are not yet Approved Residency Sites but have completed the first of two steps in the approval process are recognized as Candidate Residency Sites. These sites are eligible to advertise and accept residents. Part two of the process, an on-site review, must still be conducted before a final approval decision is made, typically before completion of the program by the first resident.

Mental Health

The Johns Hopkins Hospital Mental Health Residency Program
Site Coordintaor: Janice J. Jaskulski
Coordinator E-mail: jjaskul1@jhmi.edu
(410) 955-9735

Physical Rehabilitation

Brooks Rehabilitation Institute of Higher Learning
Jacksonville, FL
Site Coordinator: Julie Watson
Coordinator E-mail: jwatson@usa.edu
(904) 826-0084 ext. 1259

Duke University Hospital
Durham, NC
Site Coordinator: Melissa Kandel
Coordinator Email: melissa.kandel@duke.edu 
(919) 681-3434

Keck Medical Center of USC
Los Angeles, CA
Site Coordinator: Phuong Nguyen
Coordinator Email: phuong.nguyen@health.usc.edu
(323) 442-8833 

Stanford Healthcare
Redwood City, CA
Site Coordinator: Donna Lashgari
Coordinator E-mail: dlashgari@stanfordmed.org 
(650) 721-7866


Applicant Residency Sites

These sites are in the first stage of the AOTA-approval process, meaning they are either currently compiling their applications or are under review. 

  • Cleveland Clinic Children's Hospital
  • Creighton University
  • Fairview Health Systems
  • Houston Methodist Sugarland Hospital
  • Kessler Rehab Institute
  • Oregon Health and Science University
  • Mayo Clinic
  • MedStar National
  • MossRehab
  • Shepherd Center
  • UNC Health Care